Winston holds the balance of power in the final poll

A coin toss

The final Newshub poll

Here’s what parliament looks like on tonight’s final Newshub poll and electorate polls.

So, Winston unfortunately holds the balance of power.

The Māori Party will have Te Ururoa Flavell and Howie Tamati in parliament, with Marama Fox unfortunately out of the picture.

The Greens get 9 seats, which gives us:

  1. James Shaw (Wellington Central)
  2. ​Marama Davidson (Tamaki Makaurau)
  3. Julie Anne Genter (Mt Albert)
  4. Eugenie Sage (Port Hills)
  5. Gareth Hughes (East Coast)
  6. Jan Logie (Mana)
  7. Chlöe Swarbrick (Maungakiekie)
  8. Golriz Ghahraman (Te Atatu)
  9. Mojo Mathers (Rangitata)

New Zealand First also gets 9 seats, giving us:

  1. Winston Peters (Northland)
  2. Ron Mark (Wairarapa)
  3. Tracey Martin (Rodney)
  4. Fletcher Tabuteau (Rotorua)
  5. Darroch Ball (Palmerston North)
  6. Clayton Mitchell (Tauranga)
  7. Mark Patterson (Clutha-Southland)
  8. Shane Jones (Whangarei)
  9. Jenny Marcroft

ACT still gets just one seat, keeping David Seymour.

National gets 56 seats.

Labour gets 45 seats.

Labour’s 45 + Green’s 9 = 54 seats

Unfortunately, Winston Peters then holds the balance of power.

Therefore, we either have a National/NZ First government, or a Labour/Greens/NZ First government.

Either way, a shitty situation. But, in this volatile election, we could still be surprised.

Leave a Reply